Fitness Blog | Arms Day | FST-7 Talk

Good Morning!

Weighing in at 103 kg today, rather high however I do not feel as though I have gained weight! I do not judge myself from a number so having it increase or decrease does not phase me, what phases me is how I look. I encourage everybody to get off the scales and start looking in the mirror to determine your progress!

Anyway’s this morning I hit off a solid arms session using a FST-7 method, I’ve been enjoying the FST-7 routines for my arms specifically, it allows me to really push the arms and add some volume. Here is how the workout goes:

Triceps:

  1. Tricep Pushdown: 7 Sets of 12
  2. Close-Grip Bench Press: 3 Sets of 12
  3. Dips: 3 Sets of 10
  4. Skullcrushers: 7 Sets of 10

Biceps:

  1. High-Cable Curls: 7 Sets of 12
  2. Barbell Curl: 3 Sets of 12
  3. Hammer Curls: 3 Sets of 20
  4. Machine Preacher Curls: 7 Sets of 12

Overall, trained really well this morning with my partner. We really got our heads into the exercises and pulled through with some very sore arms!

So what is an FST-7? What are the benefits and Why?

FST-7 stands for Fascial Stretch Training and the seven refers to 7 sets performed usually as the final exercise of a target bodypart. Basically you train that bodypart on any given day heavy as you normally would keeping the rep range between 8-12, but the last exercise you perform the seven sets to finish off that particular muscle, with minimal rest in between to get the best pump possible.
You should refrain from using compound lifts as your “seven set,” because they require balance and the use of ancillary muscles which takes focus off the target muscle. Machines and cables are a good idea and free wights like barbell curls and skull crushers also work well for this “seven set”. Perform your “seven set” at the end of the workout for that muscle group.
The goal is to bring as much vitamins, minerals, amino acids, oxygen etc. into the muscle, and also stretch the fascia surrounding it to help encourage maximal muscle growth.  The fascia is the limiting factor in acheiving muscle growth because the mucsle will grow only as much as there is room for it to do so.  This training system is targeted to stretch the fascia and allow more room, instead of limiting muscle growth.
*Restricting the “seven sets” as your last exercise is recommended for new users of this training principle. This will allow you to lift heavy for first few exercises before taking the muscle to failure.  There are many other variations for advanced users, including “front-loading the seven sets,” that can be discussed to allow creativity in your workouts to shock and further stretch the fascia and enhance muscle growth.
Have you ever trained using the FST-7 method? or would you like too?
Let me know, I’d be interested in helping you out!
Stay Strong!
Paul

Leave a comment